Beckyx234
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
hey guys!! ive got a 6 marker to complete and to be honest i simply dont get it, ive used revision notes, online resources and my brains gone blank im really struggling, the question is "Explain how change can have short term and long effects on ecosystems"
please could someone write me a summary of what to write and ill expand on the points. thank you x
Shy oreo
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I’m studying geography for GCSEs so I’ll try my best:
- climate change will alter how species live and interact. they will have to learn how to mitigate with extreme events/disturbances like droughts floods and droughts. (Which is happening in Australia)
- Extreme fishing : can cause a huge disturbance in the food chain. utrients such as nitrogen (N) and phosphorus (P) are critical for supporting the productivity of plants and micro- organisms at the base of aquatic food webs. Fish play an important role in nutrient cycles because they store a large proportion of ecosystem nutrients in their tissues, transport nutrients farther than other aquatic animals and excrete nutrients in dissolved forms that are readily available to primary producers.
It’ll affect growth of algae and cause long term problems
Ðeggs
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
This question is very broad so I would focus on one type of change (short-term climate change, long term climate change, land-use change etc). I'll use the example of a salt marsh here.