GCSE English Literature Unseen poetry

Watch
soularius01
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
Hiya I am currently studying for unseen poetry (Love and relationships) in College, I can do poetry analysis fairly well but I am struggling greatly when it comes to structuring and planning out my essays-compare 2 poems. My questions are
How many quotations per paragraph, how do you plan out essays, what should a paragraph structure look like, How many words per paragraph, How to get a grade 9 essay.
Last edited by soularius01; 3 months ago
nishi_6780
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
Hey, I'm not in college but I'm studying English literature GCSE and I actually have a pending essay on poetry comparisons and I have a few tips that can help you.

The examiners love to see detail and contextual information. It's not necessarily quantity but quality but the preferred "amount" is around 4 paragraphs. The structure would be:
poem 1
poem 2
poem 1
poem 2

If you have any more questions I would love to answer them.
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
how many quotations per para, well, however many support the point you make.
Whether it's 2 or 4 quotations, if these support 1 individual point, put it into a paragraph. One point per paragraph, not x quotes per paragraph. If it is only 1 quote supporting your point though, make sure you explain it very well to ensure you get max marks