UCL Mathematical Modelling MSc vs LSE Operations Research & Analytics MSc

Watch
maths00
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hi, I have offers for UCL Mathematical Modelling MSc and LSE Operations Research & Analytics MSc but struggling to choose between the two.

I'm in my final year of a maths undergrad degree, and enjoy applied maths, also really enjoy programming in Python. Pretty sure I don't want to go into academia/research after this, most likely will want to get a grad scheme for a finance job.

Anyone got any advice on deciding between these courses? Both in terms of job prospects/course content as well as what it's like to do a postgrad at either uni (student life etc).

Has anyone here done either of these courses who could answer a few questions?

I know the UCL course covers 8 single-term modules, whereas the LSE course covers 6 longer modules, and both have the dissertation afterwards, also there seems to be a greater choice of modules for LSE. However I'm very interested in modelling too, and I feel like the UCL maths department is supposed to be better than LSE's? Although I don't know how much that's changed in recent years.

Thanks!
doley789
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Can i ask why the masters if you want to go into employment?
maths00
Rep:
?
Partly because I'd quite like to experience another uni while I have the chance (don't want to give up student life just yet lol), also I haven't been able to get a grad scheme this year, I'm still not entirely sure what job I want to go into (got an internship this summer so I can try one out) and finally I hope a masters would open up more roles I wouldn't otherwise have been considered for

also both courses sound really interesting so I think I'll enjoy it
maths00
Rep:
?