jbrdodd
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I'm a history tutor whos tutoring a year 10 student at the moment.

I teach a certain topic then I put flashcards for her to copy down on the next slide. So this means she listens to me whilst I explain a topic then she has time on the next slide to create flashcards so she is able to listen and get down the vital information

However, I'm doubting myself whether if this is an effective method and whether if writing too much during a session is bad for the student and should just get her to copy the flashcards in her own time so Im able to teach more material.
Kumaa1995
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I can't speak much on History in particular but...

Since this looks to be 1:1, I would work on the amount of teaching material, whilst recommending studying/revision methods to the student in their own time, as developing these flip cards in their own time will allow the student to try and recall the information.

You can work on trying to use video materials, alongside doing things such as mindmaps. It'll let her connect things better so she has a more thorough understanding. Not to mention just be sure to give her plenty of time to ask questions.

If you haven't already perhaps put recommended reading/revision resources on the slides so she can also refer to these in her own time, especially if she also has a copy of the slides.