Medicine as a 2nd degree maintenance Loan help!

Watch
Romcom101
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Dear Student Finance,

I studied BSc Optometry at University of Manchester. I took out the full maintenance and tuition fee loans for all 3 years of study.

I am going to study 5 year undergraduate Medicine as a second degree beginning September 2021 at Aston University.

Please can you let me know if I am eligible for any maintenance loans ? I understand for the 5th year I can get a loan to cover the full tuition costs.

Many thanks,

Romcom101
Smeraldettoi
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Romcom101)
Dear Student Finance,

I studied BSc Optometry at University of Manchester. I took out the full maintenance and tuition fee loans for all 3 years of study.

I am going to study 5 year undergraduate Medicine as a second degree beginning September 2021 at Aston University.

Please can you let me know if I am eligible for any maintenance loans ? I understand for the 5th year I can get a loan to cover the full tuition costs.

Many thanks,

Romcom101
You should get maintenance loan you just won’t get tuition fees paid unless you get in a four year graduate entry medicine course
ecolier
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Garnettoi)
You should get maintenance loan you just won’t get tuition fees paid unless you get in a four year graduate entry medicine course
Agreed, grads doing standard undergrad med will be eligible for a means-tested maintenance loan which for some students could just about cover the £9250 per year.

But that £9250 per year would have to be paid upfront, there's no tuition fee loan unlike graduate entry medicine.
Last edited by ecolier; 3 weeks ago
Smeraldettoi
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by ecolier)
Agreed, grads doing standard undergrad med will be eligible for a means-tested maintenance loan which for some students could just about cover the £9250 per year.