How do I stop reminiscing the past?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Lately I’ve found myself thinking so much about my past and how much I loved it. I feel inadequate in my current happiness yet I have everything I ever wanted. I’m studying at my dream uni, got my dream internship, the perfect friends and I’m so close with my family. I am so blessed. But why do I find myself longing for my past? I’m 20, going to be 21 next month. Is this how adulthood feels like? Will I always miss my past and will I ever be as happy as I was during my teenage years?
Anonymous #2
Report 2 weeks ago
Probably, tbh. I can't say I reminisce about my teenage years, but I have never been as happy as I was in sixth form and I doubt I even will be. Coming from someone who is nearly 30.
Anonymous #3
Report 2 weeks ago
With mindfulness and meditation.

Mindfulness trains you to stay focused on the present and to be less judgemental.

Meditation shows you how most thoughts are pointless and intrusive.
Rockmeteller
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I went through a period of feeling like that, so I completely understand what you’re going through. The problem is, our memory often idealises the past. I found myself reminiscing about how happy I was in the sixth form recently, and even though I do have good memories, I had to remind myself that on a day to day basis I was actually tired and frustrated and yearning for school to end. So, at the end of an individual day I used to feel fairly negative, but now that I’ve moved on my brain focuses on all the good bits, which skews my perception.