Getting an account to get a student loan.

Watch
tande33
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
Hello! I am a UK resident who wants to go to uni next year and needs an account so that I can get a tuition and maintenance loan. I have had a look and the Santander student current account looks good as it comes with a free railcard. However, I go onto the website and It says I need to be 18 (which I am later this month) and that I need to have a confirmed offer to a Uni. I will not have this before I must apply for the loans, so what am I missing? What sort of account should I be looking at? Many thanks!!!
tande33
Rep:
?
Also, I should add that I have a savings account but I got that when I was like 14, so it isn't suitable I don't think, it may not even be under my own name.
Uni_Student321
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by tande33)
Also, I should add that I have a savings account but I got that when I was like 14, so it isn't suitable I don't think, it may not even be under my own name.
You would have to put a different account on student finance for now. Once your place at uni is confirmed, you can apply for a student account. You then change your details on the student finance website with your new student account.
Eo39
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I had this issue- I just used my current account details for student finance at the time of applying for it, and then once I could get a student account opened I changed my bank details on the student finance portal to the new student account I had opened. So you’d need to open a current account in the meantime, which you can do. Hope this helps
tande33
Rep:
?
perfect Thanks!

(Original post by Eo39)