The Student Room Group

Go back to old career or move forward with new career?

A few years ago I worked in the housing sector. The job was not a management position but was very stressful. I started to feel very weak physically and told management a few times about the workload which was ignored. I ended up catching a virus as my immune system was low. The virus was very bad and I had to have time off. They pressured me to come back when I was still ill. I went back for a few weeks but still had post viral issues. I had to go off again as I had not properly recovered. I came back to work again whilst I still I had not recovered and still felt ill and was bullied my team who said I made up being ill to get time off then I was sacked. The union tried to help but because I didn’t work there for 2 years the company got away with what they did.

It has taken me nearly 3 years to properly recover as I had a lot of physical issues and deficiencies which in that time I decided to change careers.

After nearly years I have nearly finished my level 3 qualification to be Teaching Assistant. I decided to do this as a career change as I enjoy helping people, the children are lovely and the work life balance should better. Lately I have done some temping again in the housing sector. I really enjoy this type of work and the organisation is not corrupt like the last place. I have seen a job advertised for somewhere else to work in housing which would be £2-4K more than working as a teaching assistant.