pizza2000
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi there! I'm new to this forum, I'm a final year history undergrad and I just got a job as teaching assistant with TeachNow. I have tutored in the past and I have also worked in a summer camp, but I've never actually worked in a classroom. I'm going to start working in two weeks and I'm extremely nervous: I don't know what to expect and I'm really nervous.
Does anyone have any tips for me? Any piece of advice will be greatly appreciated!
Lydia Taylor (YSJU Student Ambassador)
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by pizza2000)
Hi there! I'm new to this forum, I'm a final year history undergrad and I just got a job as teaching assistant with TeachNow. I have tutored in the past and I have also worked in a summer camp, but I've never actually worked in a classroom. I'm going to start working in two weeks and I'm extremely nervous: I don't know what to expect and I'm really nervous.
Does anyone have any tips for me? Any piece of advice will be greatly appreciated!
Hello :ciao:

I am a Primary Education student and I worked as a Teaching Assistant in my gap year!

My first tip would be to remember that you have been given a job and so the employers have faith in you. They have not only chosen you because they think you would be suited to the job but also because you would do well in their school!

The teacher in the classroom knows the class very well and will have routines and organisation already in place. You can talk to the teacher about these and find out where they would like you to fit into them. Teachers are so lovely and understanding so will be more than happy to calm any of your nerves.
When I was a TA, I would go through the planning with my teacher every day and she would leave her plan out on her desk so I could refer to it whenever. This is something you could request so that you have a plan on paper that can act as a guide.