Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi
My mother wants to do a PHD in Education
She is already has a masters in microbiology
I was just curious what kind of funding might be avaiala le to her
And if any there was a course or uni she could do distance learning?
Any advice would be appreciated
Thanks
Uni of Hull Students
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Kitcha Baiu)
Hi
Thanks
Hi Kitcha Baiu

It is great that your mother is considering studying for a PhD in Education. I am a current PhD History Student at the University of Hull.

whilst I am personally not aware of potential universities which offer distance learning PhD's, I would use UCAS to find any potential distance learning-based PhD courses -https://www.ucas.com/
as well as using FindAPhD -https://www.findaphd.com/
and search individual university websites.
I would check whether your local university offers a PhD in Education if your Mother is wishing to study locally/remotely, as they may be able to facilitate distance-based learning although this is no guarantee.

In regards to entry requirements for a PhD, it is worth checking with individual universities as to what subjects/degree classifications they require to study the course.

One way of funding a PhD is through a Doctoral Loan
UK students who haven’t secured a scholarship can take out a Doctoral Loan to help with tuition fees and living costs. They provide up to £26,445 for full-time and part-time PhDs in all subject areas.
Further details about the doctoral loan can be found on the government website - https://www.gov.uk/doctoral-loan/what-you-get
There may also be scholarships available, which is worth researching into as well.

I hope this helps, and I am happy to answer any questions which you may have

Emily
University of Hull Student Representative
PhoenixFortune
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 days ago
(Original post by Kitcha Baiu)
Hi
Thanks