2nd Year Student wishing to drop out

Watch
L.M.S
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I'm a second-year Psychology student, and I have been considering dropping out for the past 2 months. I haven't been attending any lectures because they are not interesting to me anymore and I've left assignments to the last minute because they're not interesting to me either.

My family has noticed that I've not been motivated to look for my placement, even if I have said otherwise, and have said that if I want to drop out I just need to tell them.

What advice would you be able to give me?
Hancxoxo
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I think the main thing is questioning what the benefits of dropping out for the last year will be. If your mental health is deteriorating and you genuinely feel like it’s the right option then definitely speak to your family they seem to be very supportive. Also consider what career path your wanting- is it related to that course? Before starting uni I would’ve said ride it out for the last year, however I’m debating transferring to a uni in my home city for second year and I totally understand that feeling, especially in the pandemic.
I think you really need to follow your gut on this one... is the result of you staying going to be getting a third? Do you feel like there’s something else you could be doing in this next year, even if it’s just figuring out new career paths?
I’ve found that confiding in my parents has literally helped me so much and it hasn’t felt like a burden at all, just a logical decision where I can also gain different perspectives.
Good luck with whatever you decide !
KatyyPetch
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by L.M.S)
I'm a second-year Psychology student, and I have been considering dropping out for the past 2 months. I haven't been attending any lectures because they are not interesting to me anymore and I've left assignments to the last minute because they're not interesting to me either.