Melissabuckley
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
So basically I’m in my second last year of school and I hate it so much and I would much rather go to uni that spend another year there. I’m studying 5 highers and I think I may be able to get 3 As and 2Bs this year, I’m interested in studying a chemistry or biology based degree.

The UCAS deadline was january and its now April but I’ve seen that they still take applications until June. If I were to apply now would I still have a good chance or is it not worth my time?
Jonathanツ
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
No idea but have you heard of clearing? I hear that is good for people like yourself
swanseajack1
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
You would be advised to apply now. However before applying ring the university to check whether they have spaces. For a Chemistry or Biology subject most will have spaces although a few at the top end wont.
Miss_mischy
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
You can still apply now as usual (you don't need wait until clearing which happens in July/August in case you don't have any offers). If you go on UCAS you should apply the filter "vacancies for courses for XX" XX is your country/region of residency (not nationality). It will give you a list of unis and their courses which still take applications.

I don't know how quickly unis update UCAS on their vacancies, so yes, probably also a good idea to check with the universities directly. Some unis also say more about accepting late applications on their websites.
Last edited by Miss_mischy; 1 week ago
mike23mike
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
You can still apply via UCAS but you have left it late so it could mean that places in your preferred uni are now gone. There are 21 unis in Scotland so you will get to study Chemistry somewhere; it may not be Edinburgh or Glasgow.
swanseajack1
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by mike23mike)