Humayun786
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi

I'm currently a first year Maths student at the university of Manchester, and I am wondering if it's worth transfering to a joint maths and computer science degree?

Pros:
1. The reasons I'm considering it is because I want to go into the tech industry, and I feel computer science will help with that a lot.
2. I enjoy coding and maths a lot

Cons
1. I don't want to go through another year of university
2. I'll leave all my friends in my course
bunnyy___
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I say do it it sounds like such a good opportunity🙂 I don’t know you and how you might handle making new friends but it’s not necessarily a bad thing ! There will be a lot of demand for computer science in future so if you don’t want to be saying what if I did it? then I say go for it! Good luckk
Mathswizard789
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I was in a similar position to you. I loved coding after my first year of a non-computer science degree. The way I see it is that you have 3 options.
-Stay on the course ( apply for internships, learn coding on side)
-Do the double honours with an extra year
-Do you current degree then IFF, you need to, you can do a masters in computer science.

Since your doing maths, you can always learn coding on the side and then finish your degree but just apply for a coding job.

That's what I am doing. I did economics at university and I don't have any problems with getting interviews for full-time jobs and internships for top tech companies/banks(as a software engineer)

Personally, I will tell you to carry on with maths as long as you don't hate it. Your degree choice doesn't really mean much.In fact, in a lot of companies, software engineers are not even just computer science students but STEM students in general.
Humayun786
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
(Original post by Mathswizard789)