Unable to keep up with course reading

Watch
glazeddonut
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I'm a 2nd year student doing Ancient History and Archaeology and I feel like I've made a mess of things and not made the most out of uni.

I've taken careful notes of all year 1 and year 2 lectures and perform decently on assignments (I know my strengths and weaknesses now so that's helpful).

However, I feel as if I learn nothing in seminars- the discussions are pretty recycled and often go of-topic, so I don't have any notes from them apart from for 1 modules where the seminars have been intellectually stimulating and I've really enjoyed them.

However, one thing I'm worried about is that I've barely touched reading lists and kept up with context readings that my professors provide alongside the lectures because there just isn't enough time! I only read extensively for essays obviously in order to score a 2:1 or a first.

Yet, I'm worried once 3rd year finishes and I'll lose access to the university library and Blackboard, it will seem as if I didn't make the most of my degree? I understand what's been taught in lectures but at the same time there's just too much background and context reading to 'master' a particular topic which is what is stressing me out. I want to be able to do other things too, as opposed to just read, read and read.

Do any History/ Ancient History/ Politics/ Sociology/ Humanities students at university feel the same way? Do you all selectively read? How do I stop myself from feeling guilty about 'not making the most of my degree,' even though so far I have understood everything that has been taught in lectures and done quite well in assessments?
glazeddonut
Rep:
?
Bump?
MatthewAteYou
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
I'm about to graduate studying politics, philosophy, & economics.