Lush284
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 days ago
So I’m kinda stuck between going to Aston or Cardiff to do my foundation year for optometry.
On one hand, Cardiff does a specific to optometry foundation year which Aston doesn’t (it’s more broad and general) but Aston’s location is perfect for me because it means I don’t have to move out and can easily get part time work as an optical assistant if I stay. But Cardiff is a Russel Group uni which is really good. Also many people from my sixthform are going to Aston which I kinda don’t want ..

So essentially the course in Cardiff is more appealing to me but if I go Aston, I’ll be more likely to get work experience/part time job which is also crucial.

Help me decide please!! Also if anyone has done a foundation year in either uni lmk how it was I’m very curious!! Thank you
Arabian_QueenK
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
Hi, I am no expert in what I am about to say but here is my opinion. Do not thinking about the university if it is a Russel or not in fact I got a Russel university and declined it due to its lack of support on mental health wellbeing I would rather go to a university that will not support if I ever was to be in that sort of position (I'm in a healthy mind set now but who knows what the future predicts) .