Open University PhD Experiences/Advice

Watch
LadyMondagreen
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi everyone, I've been incredibly lucky and won a funded place at the OU from autumn of this year to do my doctorate in English and Creative Writing. I'm overjoyed and excited, but also a little apprehensive. Of the couple of friends I have who've done a PhD, all pursued theirs at brick-and-mortar unis, and not very recently. No one else in my family has a degree. I've been given a dispensation to study at a distance (due to caring responsibilities) although I will try to travel up to campus as much as possible. Any one else around who's done or is currently undertaking doctoral study at the OU? Does anyone have any experiences they'd like to share, or advice to offer?
Evaaeri
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hi, I’m not but I studied Ma Creative Writing at OU. I enjoyed it but too a break after a year when I found out that I enjoy YA writing and OU only does adult fiction. Keep is posted how it goes, the whole online experience was excellent and I’m sure you’ll do well.
LadyMondagreen
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Evaaeri)
Hi, I’m not but I studied Ma Creative Writing at OU. I enjoyed it but too a break after a year when I found out that I enjoy YA writing and OU only does adult fiction. Keep is posted how it goes, the whole online experience was excellent and I’m sure you’ll do well.
Thank you for responding. Funnily enough the OU don't actually do online/distance learning PhDs, you're normally expected to attend campus, so I think I'll be on Zoom and there in person as often as I can. Good luck with your work.
K250816
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago