What to do after a maths degree?

Watch
username5508856
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I'm in first year of a four year maths degree (It's in Scotland which is why it is four years) but I have absolutely no idea what to do afterwards and what I should be doing now to seem like a more competitive applicant in the workplace.

Can people give me a background about potential careers and things that would help me stand out?

(I am asking this here as I've already searched this in Google but it is a lot easier to get more "personal" information if I am asking people directly rather than searching general websites).
Last edited by username5508856; 3 months ago
username5508856
Rep:
?
I go to St Andrews uni if that matters
0le
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by Uni_Student321)
I'm in first year of a four year maths degree (It's in Scotland which is why it is four years) but I have absolutely no idea what to do afterwards and what I should be doing now to seem like a more competitive applicant in the workplace.

Can people give me a background about potential careers and things that would help me stand out?

(I am asking this here as I've already searched this in Google but it is a lot easier to get more "personal" information if I am asking people directly rather than searching general websites).
You will be able to apply for a wide range of roles.

You will be particularly suited for data science roles, especially if you study statistics and discrete mathematics. You can apply for graduate tech roles, most a wide range of consultancy roles and a good number of finance roles such as quantitative analytics.

I'd recommend doing some volunteering work, internships or part-time during the summer if possible. All graduate schemes and entry roles are extremely competitive and if you are unlucky, you may finding getting your first job very challenging.
Last edited by 0le; 3 months ago
username5508856
Rep:
?
(Original post by 0le)