hormistonx
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
Can someone help me with this question please? I'm a trainee dental nurse.

Explain your understanding of the role of dental professionals and healthcare teams during the delivery of health promotion?
heldbygrace
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
DrTSR or Nuttyy can you help?
Last edited by heldbygrace; 3 months ago
DrTSR
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by hormistonx)

Explain your understanding of the role of dental professionals and healthcare teams during the delivery of health promotion?
Literally no clue lol
Kerzen
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by hormistonx)

I think that you need to split it up into pieces.

Firstly, what is it asking you to do?

EXPLAIN what you understand to be

THE ROLE of

DENTAL PROFESSIONALS & HEALTHCARE TEAMS during

THE DELIVERY OF HEALTH PROMOTION

I think that it is asking you to describe how dental professionals and healthcare teams contribute to the delivery of health promotion messages.

My only problem is knowing what is meant by 'health promotion' in this specific context.

As this is about the dental environment, I am inclined to think about areas of health promotion ie positive encouragement to patients so that they will adopt healthier ways of caring for themselves which are relevant to dental care; there are advantages to this from several perspectives. One is that encouraging healthy self care is inherently a good thing; the other perspective is that better self care means a lower need to access valuable resources such as time with a dentist or a GP.

I suppose that something you might imagine could be having various leaflets in the dental practice. If a patient said that she was pregnant, for instance, you could offer a leaflet about dental care during pregnancy and how important it is; at a later date, you could offer a leaflet about dental care for infants just developing teeth.