Sully_19
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi, I am currently studying Maths, Chemistry and Economics at A level and I am likely to achieve three A's or possibly A*, A, A respectively. I did not expect to do as well as I thought so I applied to weaker universities with lower grade requirements. I have changed my mind and want to go to a top uni with these new grades I am likely to get. This means I will have to take a gap year and reapply. Is it worth taking a year out for this reason?
ayana8
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Couldn't you apply to a high uni through ucas adjustment this year? That way you don't need to take a gap year
McGinger
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Top Economics courses will not be in Extra, so you will have to either :
1) Wait until you get your results, and if they are good enough, quickly phone some top Unis to see it they would be interested in taking you via Adjustment - https://www.ucas.com/ucas/undergradu...etter-expected
2) Get your results and if they are good enough, drop this year's UCAS application and reapply in September to FIVE top Uni choices. You should get some speedy offers, and then you have a Gap Year knowing you have good Uni place to go to.
3) For Econ, yes its worth it. With a degree from an RG or other top Uni, your future career opportunities will be far greater than one from an 'average' Uni. And if you are that bright, you will just get bored at an average Uni.
Sully_19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
(Original post by McGinger)
Top Economics courses will not be in Extra, so you will have to either :
1) Wait until you get your results, and if they are good enough, quickly phone some top Unis to see it they would be interested in taking you via Adjustment - https://www.ucas.com/ucas/undergradu...etter-expected