guayabera
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
I'm currently firmed to do a BA in French and Portuguese, doing Portuguese as a beginner.

At the moment though, I'm studying French and German A Levels and am now considering doing a BA in Modern Languages which includes French, German and Portuguese.

Would anybody advice against this or is this a good idea? Has anyone done 3 languages at uni?

This is the link for a brief explanation into the Modern Languages and two languages course.
http://www.bristol.ac.uk/study/under...ern-languages/

I do really enjoy German and think it would be a shame to drop it having come this far with it, but on the other hand I don't know if three is too much and/or it would make my year abroad too expensive.

If you have the time I could do with as much advice as possible

Thanks
SirNoodles
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
I'm going to be studying Spanish, French and Portuguese (Beginners) in September so here's what I think:

To be perfectly honest, it's a completely individual thing. Doing 3 languages is very hard and many people wouldn't be able to handle the workload. If, however, you reckon you can and you really want to do 3 languages you definitely should!

It also depends on what languages you're doing. It'd be extremely difficult to do Chinese, German and Russian for a university degree and come out with a good level as they're 3 hard languages from completely different language families. However, in your combination French and Portuguese are both Romance languages and German is a Germanic language like English. So considering the relative proximity of all those 3 languages to each other and to English, the combination that you want to do is certainly doable.