Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
Hi, so I’m considering dropping out of uni. I’m in first year and it’s all been online. First of all, I didn’t get into my dream uni because my A-Level grades got messed up from not actually taking exams, so I didn’t meet the entry requirements. I’m currently studying Psychology, and it has been my dream to become a Psychologist, but now I’m having second thoughts. I haven’t done any of the work for second semester and I’m really behind, yet my assignments are due in 2 weeks. There is no chance of me completing them. I have been really unmotivated and depressed and everytime I even try to do the work, I end up just staring at the screen for hours and just feel like sh*t. I just can’t tell if it’s because it’s online or if uni just isn’t for me. I do sometimes feel like I’d rather be working, or I wish I had deferred my offer.

I’m just conflicted because I don’t want to be a quitter, and I also don’t want to miss out on the uni experience, which I have been doing already anyways since I’ve only been on campus like 5 times this whole year and only made one friend. I know degrees are very valuable and I don’t want to end up in a position where I haven’t achieved anything in life, but I just feel worthless and super stressed atm just thinking about what to do. No one in my family has been to uni and I was supposed to be the first and do my family proud, as well as making myself proud, but it just hasn’t worked out that way and I really regret not having the motivation to do the work. It just feels like too much and I could really do with some advice, thanks.
Anonymous #2
Report 5 months ago
Leave and take a gap year or two.
Retake A Levels if you want to find some work during your gap year. Also ask your current uni if you can defer 2nd year, their reply will help u decide what u wanna do next (retake a levels and apply again in 1-2 years time, etc)