How to stop regretting university choice?

Watch
twistedalice
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I can't stop worrying about my university ranking and I kept on regretting my choices like "why didn't I pick a higher rank one?". This made me lose focus on my current study and I feel so messed up. Does university ranking even matter when it comes to job opportunities?
SlaveofAll
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I went to a public university even when I preferred a private one in principle, but in the end it didn't matter, as I graduated there with flying colours. Treating it as a rite of passage instead of a necessity helped me coped with studying there.
McGinger
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Getting cold feet, worrying that 'have I chosen the right Uni, ' is this the right course' etc etc, is very normal at this point.

There will be thousands of students all over the UK thinking exactly the same things at the moment. Its a big step you are about to make, and actually its quite natural that you are starting to weigh up the reality of actually Going to Uni. But - when you get to Uni, start your course, start to join-in and make new friends, you be surprised by how exciting/amazing it all is. And you will look back and wonder what you were so worried about - promise.

Rankings and all that la-la really do not matter. Presumably you chose those courses/Unis because they were the ones that really interested you - the best reason. Rankings can they can never tell you if you will enjoy that course or like being at that Uni.

Tip - this weekend, go out and buy some things to-take-to-Uni and start enjoying the journey you are making. It will be okay, just take it all in little-steps.
cchloepx
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Only picking a uni based on rankings is kinda shallow, IMO.