The Student Room Group

How to travel to uni?

I am a mature student and I don't drive. I live in London and will be moving to Edinburgh and am trying to figure out the best way to get myself and my belongings up there.

Most advice about travelling to uni is for teenagers who are going with their parents which obviously doesn't apply to me. No one I know owns a car as they're pretty pointless in London. I was considering hiring a car and asking a friend to drive me, but between the hire costs, mileage, and fuel it was looking to be upwards of £300 which I simply don't have.

Right now I'm looking at those luggage sending services for my stuff and getting the train myself. But is there anything obvious I may have overlooked?
There are sometimes plane tickets available london-edinburgh for less than a train
Reply 2
I travelled to uni by ferry and train with a suitcase and rucksack and topped up at subsequent visits home
Reply 3
Original post by blackthorne
I am a mature student and I don't drive. I live in London and will be moving to Edinburgh and am trying to figure out the best way to get myself and my belongings up there.

Most advice about travelling to uni is for teenagers who are going with their parents which obviously doesn't apply to me. No one I know owns a car as they're pretty pointless in London. I was considering hiring a car and asking a friend to drive me, but between the hire costs, mileage, and fuel it was looking to be upwards of £300 which I simply don't have.

Right now I'm looking at those luggage sending services for my stuff and getting the train myself. But is there anything obvious I may have overlooked?