Confusedlady29
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hello Everyone,

I am studying circuits at the moment at GCSE and I quite confused by some areas. I think I have a general understanding of a battery suppling voltage (like a pressure) to the circuit to move the electrons around and that this potential difference is generated because electrons are removed from atoms using chemical energy which is then converted to potential energy whereby the electrons what to recombine with the ions and this is what drives them around the circuit. I then understand that the electrons then travel through components of the circuit i.e. a bulb and this energy is then transferred to the bulb as work is done by the resistance of the bulb however, my question is if we have a 1.5V battery that supplies 1.5J/C and then a lamp that uses 1.5V won't this remove all of the supplied electrical potential as it transferred into thermal energy and light. What would happen to the circuit? Do the electrons just stop flowing? Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!
Last edited by Confusedlady29; 7 months ago
Joinedup
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 7 months ago
The electrons don't just stop, if you measured the current before the lamp and the current after the lamp you'd find the same current. The electrons don't build up inside the copper wire, the copper wire is full of electrons to start with and the number of electrons going in has to be marched by the number coming out.

Current is Coulombs per second and Voltage is Joules per coulomb so the bit of the circuit where the work Is being done is the bit with the pd across it.
Confusedlady29
Rep:
(Original post by Joinedup)