Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hey all,

Im an F3 doctor going into F4, and looking to apply for academic IMT jobs this year.
I have a medium level portfolio- done the QIPs, posters/presentations, lots of teaching and some teaching training. I'm mainly missing postgrad qualifications, and publications.

Has anyone applied and can tell me what the process is like. Ive seen the benchmarking online, is this the standard each job has to use or do they change it depending on what they're looking for?
Also how were interviews? And for those doing the programmes do you recommend?
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Oh yeah, you'll just have 'academic IMT' jobs now. Does that mean you couldn't apply for any group 2 specialties even if you wanted to?

Even though I've been through it I'm not very knowledgeable about this - I barely remember my interview. And all i remember about benchmarking is that you have to meet the standard for entry onto the 'standard' course - its not not good enough to just meet the academic criteria.

Yeah worth doing the program. Its just dedicated time to do academic work after all, and gets you access to things like being a university staff member, courses etc.
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
From what I can tell, its going to be three years for the majority. I don't know if the group 2 specialities have a 2 year academic route and then progress onto that speciality.
TBH I don't mind doing the three years, this rush that lots of docs have to becoming a consultant I just don't get... the main reason I want to do it is to have that time with experienced people and try out research. Ill have been locuming as an SHO for 2 years before starting, so the ward side of the jobs is fine. The struggle is to find the team thats willing to guide you into decent quality projects, and when your normal job has you on-call, working every other weekend or nights, there's so little time left to do anything of value...