Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
I’m a L3 animal management student and about to begin my studies to become a primary school teacher. I love animals, but the jobs are either unethical or do not pay well. I have always wanted to stay in the school environment, so chose to venture on my new route as a teacher.

Now the spanner in the works....

An animal technician job has come up at my old school. This is literally a dream job, I loved it there and get the school environment + animals. It’s a win win. Pay however is £18,000-£24,000 so not great long term and is a 12 month contract with the strong possibility of becoming permanent.

What would you do? Continue with studies or apply for the job? I’d rather not go to uni in the future (as I would likely have to work alongside my studies whereas currently I can give my full attention to studies) and am also aware this job wouldn’t come again anytime soon 😩😩😩 it’s one or the other and I’m so stuck.
EchoCat_39
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
DREAM JOB!

Uni and funding will be there until you're 60. Contracts can get extended, pay can go up and going into a teaching degree with work experience rather than straight from college etc is SO desirable.

That industry and general work experience against candidates that have none will be invaluable.\
DREAM JOB!!!!!
londonmyst
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
Trust you gut instinct and listen to what your feelings are telling you.
If it were me, I would go for the animal technician job to build up my employment experience and some savings for a few years.
Good luck!
Lluvia Morado
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago