The Student Room Group

Why am I such a bad reader?

Hi, I’m an a level student studying all essay based corses. My issue is not that I am a slow reader, but that I literally do not take in any knowledge when I read... even the most obvious things have to be pointed out to me. Does anyone else have this issue? Thanks babs!
Original post by ambathebunny
Hi, I’m an a level student studying all essay based corses. My issue is not that I am a slow reader, but that I literally do not take in any knowledge when I read... even the most obvious things have to be pointed out to me. Does anyone else have this issue? Thanks babs!

Is it possible if you could talk to your school about it and they/your GP could have you checked.
Something like that could really hinder your ability to excel in your studies.
I advise you get yourself checked up asap. As a result, you could be given extra time as well, which is a win win.
Original post by Anonymous
Is it possible if you could talk to your school about it and they/your GP could have you checked.
Something like that could really hinder your ability to excel in your studies.
I advise you get yourself checked up asap. As a result, you could be given extra time as well, which is a win win.

hey thanks for replying, ill try do that, I used to have dyslexia but i thought it just kinda went away, maybe it’s just never really left? Anyways thanks!
Do you have a problem?
Do you have a problem?

Yea kinda... it’s prohibited me from reading properly

Learning disabilities or something maybe

I'm sorry to hear that you have learning disabilities.
I'm sure you're school can accomodate your situation nicely.
During your exam season, they will probably also apply for 'extenuating circumstances'.
They most likely would give you extra time as well :smile:.
I'm sure you're school will be understanding.
All the best.