Advice on how to transition into law

Watch
lawques21
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
I have a BA and MA degree in history of art, both with top marks. I've been working in the arts and antiques sector for a few years now, and am beginning to think I want to transition into law. What's the best approach? Doing some kind of PGDip Law Conversion degree in a not-so-great university, then doing my damnest to get into an LLM in as good a university as I can? Any advice appreciated.
Manchester Metropolitan University
Badges: 10
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 months ago
(Original post by lawques21)
I have a BA and MA degree in history of art, both with top marks. I've been working in the arts and antiques sector for a few years now, and am beginning to think I want to transition into law. What's the best approach? Doing some kind of PGDip Law Conversion degree in a not-so-great university, then doing my damnest to get into an LLM in as good a university as I can? Any advice appreciated.
Hi lawques21

If you wish to train as a Lawyer, you will need to take a Graduate Diploma In Law ( A conversion course) as you mentioned.

The conventional pathway to qualifying as a solicitor in England and Wales is to study law at undergraduate level and then take a two year Legal Practice Course (LPC).

This postgraduate programme is a mandatory course that all law candidates have to pass in order to earn the right to practice as a solicitor. The Graduate Diploma in Law (GDL) is a postgraduate course designed for individuals who did not study law at university but still want to pursue a career in the legal field.