Worried PGCE
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi. I'm a current PGCE student (secondary science).

The covid disruption meant my university has been unable to offer me an assessed placement either in school or online. Most of the students in my cohort were offered placements at the start of the year or after schools reopened but, for whatever reason, I was bottom of the list.

Instead I was sent on a two week "experience" placement after Easter. It consisted of a week of lesson observations and a week of taking on what was effectively a TA role to in some lessons. I had no mentor and there was no opportunity for me to teach.

My university tutor emailed me today to warn me that I will fail to obtain QTS if I don't provide more evidence for my TS folder. The only things I have to date are three lesson plans for theoretical lessons I created in January and lesson observation write ups from the experience placement.

At this point, I do not know what to do. I have completed all the PGCE work but don't know how I'll be able to get more evidence for my TS. I also don't see how I'm able to apply for employment with no genuine experience to draw upon and no suitable references.
Last edited by Worried PGCE; 1 month ago
Worried PGCE
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago

The covid disruption meant my university has been unable to offer me an assessed placement either in school or online. Most of the students in my cohort were offered placements at the start of the year or after schools reopened but, for whatever reason, I was bottom of the list.

Instead I was sent on a two week "experience" placement after Easter. It consisted of a week of lesson observations and a week of taking on what was effectively a TA role to in some lessons. I had no mentor and there was no opportunity for me to teach.