lenny100
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
My partner has been out of work for 5 months and has no income due to covid. We told JSA that i was a student and expected some dole for him at least but DWP say my student loan should be enough to cover 2 people . I dont understand this as (1) this is a loan i pay back its not free (2) its not enough to cover mortgage and 2 people and (3) why has partner paid tax and national insurance if he cant make a jsa claim. Can anybody help as seems unfair. thanks
Mrssomers
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I know it’s a really sh*tty system but there are a lot of people who pay tax and national insurance yet didn’t qualify for any help this past year in particular. Although it is a loan you have to pay back, it still counts as taxable income (I am self employed so I need to declare it on my tax return).
I agree, it’s not enough for 2 people to live off and pay a mortgage, it depends on if you have been given enhanced payments etc but minimum amount isn’t enough at all.
Is there an appeals process? I’d speak to CAB. Also, is there anyone at your uni student support that could help advise you?
lenny100
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Mrssomers)
I know it’s a really sh*tty system but there are a lot of people who pay tax and national insurance yet didn’t qualify for any help this past year in particular. Although it is a loan you have to pay back, it still counts as taxable income (I am self employed so I need to declare it on my tax return).
I agree, it’s not enough for 2 people to live off and pay a mortgage, it depends on if you have been given enhanced payments etc but minimum amount isn’t enough at all.
Is there an appeals process? I’d speak to CAB. Also, is there anyone at your uni student support that could help advise you?
hello Mrssomers

thank you for coming back.