Advise?

Watch this thread
DrGeneforGene
Badges: 5
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello guys. My first post here.

I am a final year undergraduate biology student from India. I actually want to join the military as a commissioned officer very soon. I am 20 years old, and I am about to graduate college. However, I am in sort of an existential crisis as I remember how I actually grew up to who I am now. I initially wanted to be an engineer (a coder to be exact) for some time before applying for the police (not the military), then I wanted to become a medical doctor and in the process I discovered how the military has HIGH standards for medical fitness. As someone who wears glasses, I am not disqualified but I feel sad.

To clarify, I've researched everything, from criminal record to past drug use. No, I do not have a criminal record. No, I never used any non-prescription drugs but my memory does deceive me sometimes, I think everybody's in the same boat as me. However, in case I cannot become a military officer, I'd love to become a medical scientist. My degree is in Zoology, by the way, and I believe I can do Masters in Genetics, Biotechnology or Zoology. I want to help the world make a better place, if it's not me joining our military, it'll be someone else because of me, that's what I hope. The burden of disease is what I hate the most in this world.