MeleA
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hey,
I'm currently a Year 11 student going to study Maths, FM, Chemistry and Spanish next year. I really love maths and am interested in potentially studying maths at uni. I am looking to go to a top uni and I will at least try to apply to oxbridge. Has anyone got any advice on what kinds of things I can do over the next academic year to strengthen a CV? Thanks in advance
Caz1234567
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
I did Maths, Chemistry and Spanish a levels and the workload nearly killed me lol. I ended up swapping from Chemistry to Philosophy. I know a girl who did Maths, FM, French and Philosophy, she also wanted to go do maths so she had to drop philosophy to handle the workload. I'd advise you to focus on 3 subjects. Read around your subject. Do online work experience etc. If you put more time and energy into your subject rather than spreading yourself you'll surprise yourself! I would look into stuff like UNIQ and the Cambridge Shadowing Scheme, Both unis do all sorts of trips as well as maths competitions etc. I went to both of these and in year 11 I actually went to the "all adds up" conference at Oxford which was aimed at women interested in the maths industry!
But that's just my advice! Good luck!
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
You could try the Senior Maths Challenge and similar things. Otherwise just explore areas of mathematics of interest to you and read around things. Perhaps also try and avoid the urge to write about Andrew Wiles and Fermat's Last Theorem in your personal statement, I think it's a little cliché now...