SleepyBeans
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
What types of things would you study in them and what jobs prospects would come out?
anosmianAcrimony
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
I studied Biochemistry at the University of Bristol and it was pretty good.
My modules were 1st year: Biochemistry; Biological Chemistry; Normal and Tumour Cells; Pathological Responses of Cells.
2nd year modules: Recombinant DNA Technology; Macromolecular Structure, Dynamics, and Function; Infection and Immunity; Molecular Cell Biology; Gene Expression and Rearrangement
3rd year modules: Advanced Cell Biology, The Dynamic Proteome, Cellular Information, Advanced Options, Research Project

So a lot about the internal workings of the cell - genetics, metabolism, signalling cascades - and how to interact with it in terms of drugs and research techniques. IIRC there were other modules offered in the areas of pharmacology, drug design, and physiology but I chose the ones above.

Now I’m at the tail end of a MSc in cell and gene therapy. That’s also been good and the degree in Biochemistry set me up for it well. I’m still not really sure what I want to do after but I’m fairly confident I can find a role in an academic lab as a technician or research associate. Plenty of people who graduated in my year at Bristol went on to get roles in large pharmaceutical companies and other jobs in industry, so there’s that route which would be more appealing if I wasn’t a naive idealistic communist kinda person. Anyway I hope this has helped
yeahthatonethere
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
Hey! Thought I'd add a microbiology perspective here. I do MBiol Microbiology and I currently love it.