The Student Room Group

Pcda vs uni

Hi there I’m an A Level student and just finished all my exams. I’m deciding what I want to do in the future either go on the PCDA route which I’m currently doing the application for West Midlands. Or I can go to Uni I’ve applied to uni of Leeds for criminology & criminal justice. My sibling is telling me to go to Uni for the experience I will gain but I don’t see myself enjoying it long term - I’d be stuck with fees and away from my friends, and have to worry about fitting in getting a job etc. In the PCDA in west mid I’d be earning money, nearer to my friends etc. What’s better ?
I think it very much depends on you as a person in terms of which is better. On paper, PCDA is of course the best option given you're being paid and end up with a free degree and secure job.

Having said that, being a police officer is a job like no other and you'll be thrown in at the deep end on a response team. A lot of people joining, especially at 18, are unprepared really how much the job demands. It's not some 9-5 job which gives you loads of time off to study for your degree. You have to be willing to work all hours on a shift pattern, and be willing to miss major occassions at the drop of a hat. At the age of 18, that's a lot to ask. That's generally why the police prefer more mature candidates in their mid to late twenties who have more life experience, which is often much needed when dealing with a volatile crowd or severely-challenging victim.