What is Lancaster University like for a BAME student?

Watch
SpartanLevi
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I'm thinking of firming Lancaster as my first choice University, however, as a BAME student, I am slightly worried about the lack of diversity. Can any student from Lancaster let me know what the diversity is like?

Is it 'accepting' and accommodating to BAME students etc. I'm just worried I may be 'isolated' to a certain extent and may not make as many friends from different backgrounds as I'd hoped.
𝓖𝓱𝓸𝓼𝓽𝓵𝓪𝓭𝔂
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by SpartanLevi)
I'm thinking of firming Lancaster as my first choice University, however, as a BAME student, I am slightly worried about the lack of diversity. Can any student from Lancaster let me know what the diversity is like?

Is it 'accepting' and accommodating to BAME students etc. I'm just worried I may be 'isolated' to a certain extent and may not make as many friends from different backgrounds as I'd hoped.
Hi I collate as much information as I can about Lancaster as my daughters a first year there. And on the medicine thread there was a lovely person called Sukhy who is one of the lancaster ambassadors there and he said I could use his comment as part of the diversity section on the Lancaster useful tips and hints thread that I run.
So have copied and pasted here for you if it helps in any way:

Diversity at Lancaster
As posed in a question on a previous thread on the Medicine entry thread:
https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/sho...2#post93727784 Post #425
As stated from Sukhy, a 5th Year Student from Lancaster February 2021:
''Coming from West London which is a really diverse/busy/densely populated area, I was unsure what Lancaster would be like, but honestly I've had a really good time here and I rarely ever feel home sick.