Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I have an admit for anthro at LSE and I am an international student coming from a middle class family in a low income country. I haven't been able to secure any financial assistance and as a last resort I am now being forced to mortgage our house and sell off a few family asset to fund my education. My stay and tuition fee is going to be ridiculously high and I can practically not afford it but I am thinking of going to take extreme measures of using up hard earned family resources. But is it all really worth a MSc degree ? Will I as an international student have the scope to secure a good job in UK and earn well enough to compensate all the financial loss my family is going to face by funding me? I am a first generation learner and nobody in my family has had a post graduate level education and never gone abroad to study. It is a very big deal for me to get an admit in LSE and it would bring a major social and educational upliftment for me if I am able to go to LSE.
But is it really worth taking extreme financial measures for funding an education at LSE?
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I really doubt a masters from LSE is worth that much. Especially as the anthropology masters courses there are probably mainly research preparation courses for those likely to go on to do a PhD. If you want to work in some big name company or some financial services role I'm not sure it's really going to mean that much compared to a more relevant masters for those fields (from LSE or other unis).
Anonymous #2
Report 1 month ago
If you work hard and do well a postgraduate degree at LSE should get you a £30k+ job - you could then pay back £5k a year to your parents etc and you'll have paid off your debt within 8 years or less. Any extra money from pay rises could go towards paying it back earlier.