Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,

I work as a (fairly new) consultant psychiatrist in the UK. I've never felt comfortable using my "Dr" title despite all of my colleagues throwing theirs around every opportunity they can. Right from FY1 to being a consultant I've never liked it. I just find the whole thing so pompous. At the end of the day I'm no better than a nurse, OT or psychologist who has worked equally as hard (if not at times more so) for my lofty ego to be inflated by some honorary title that the GMC say is ok to use - as most of us docs have a bachelors in medicine rather than a proper doctorate like our clinical psychology colleagues. Most psychologists with doctorates that I know introduce themselves to patients by their first name.

In most cases with patients I just use my full name and let them decide. If they call me "Dr" then so be it, if it's my first name then even better in my book. I don't use my title in clinic letters (again just my name) and I don't have a fancy email signature that outlines all of my lustrous degrees (only mbchb and mrcpsych anyway lol).

Anyone else think like this or is it just me? It may be that I honestly don't belive that psychiatrists are 'proper doctors' as we lose so much general medical knowledge and skills that we may even be worse than useless in a cardiac arrest but to be honest I'm cool with that. Describe my job as you will: mental health consultant, medical social worker, quack, failed medic... I love my job and what I do, just spare all the grandiose ******** that comes with the ever so paternalistic title.

Bit of a rant, I'm sorry. Interested to hear what others think.

B
Jonathanツ
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I definitely agree, It's nice that there are people like you who don't have an high ego
Kerzen
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
ecolier

nexttime
Last edited by Kerzen; 1 month ago
ROTL94
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago