flowerskerfuffle
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi, I'm a psychology student and we had an online exam which I spent a while studying. The exam word count expectations were ridiculous. I can't remember the exact number, but in total we were expected to write roughly 3,500 words in total within 24 hrs. I spent from 8am to 2am writing my answers, barely stopping to eat. All my classmates took this long. It was essentially diagnosing conditions and suggesting treatments, so I wrote down every condition we were taught about, and the suggested treatment. All of this, just to get a grade of 39%. Thankfully the grade boundary was lowered to 30% pass otherwise I'd be screwed - it's the only thing I've ever "failed"
Last edited by flowerskerfuffle; 1 month ago
Catherine1973
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Most of my law exams were max words of 3- 4K across 3-4 questions
But they stress the word count is a max and really we should spend 3 hours doing the exam.
Of course everyone spent 24 hours (well I went to bed 10pm and back up again for 8)
24 hour exams are not healthy for students.
flowerskerfuffle
Rep:
?
(Original post by Catherine1973)
Most of my law exams were max words of 3- 4K across 3-4 questions
But they stress the word count is a max and really we should spend 3 hours doing the exam.
Of course everyone spent 24 hours (well I went to bed 10pm and back up again for 8)
It's a crazy expectation, my essays are 2,500 and we get like 3 weeks to do that.
Catherine1973
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
But 1000 per question is fairly reasonable. I know I can type that much in 45 mins, the equivalent of writing in an exam hall. In my last in person mock I wrote 6-7 pages in longhand in 45 mins for a land law question .
Galdiowolf
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Wow, that's a lot! Yep, i had to spend 24 hours in exams too, they mention it should take max 3 hours but it is not true.
username5770391
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago