?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello folks,
I am stuck between choosing from following universities:
1. Cardiff
2. QU belfast
3. Surrey
4. Durham

My intended program is MSc. Finance. I am inclined more towards Surrey because it is offering placement option but i am worried since Durham and Cardiff has a better reputation and are Russell groups as well.
Can anyone guide me which investment banks and big companies hire most graduates from? Are these 4 above mentioned worth attending? I am a little worried because i am an international student and i want to make the most out of this this PSW opportunity.

TIA!
AW_1983
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by usmaan.asiff)
Hello folks,
1. Cardiff
2. QU belfast
3. Surrey
4. Durham

My intended program is MSc. Finance. I am inclined more towards Surrey because it is offering placement option but i am worried since Durham and Cardiff has a better reputation and are Russell groups as well.
Can anyone guide me which investment banks and big companies hire most graduates from? Are these 4 above mentioned worth attending? I am a little worried because i am an international student and i want to make the most out of this this PSW opportunity.

TIA!
My advice is none of the above for the following reasons:

Cardiff - Too far away from London, inconvenient to have to relocate for internships and the bigger events hosted in London by IB employers;
Durham - Same, even though it's a semi-target university;
Surrey - Good proximity to London but not that prestigious for Finance. You'll end up paying a small fortune in rent and unlike other universities in proximity to the banks it won't be worth it;
Belfast - We have a Government that is pursuing a Brexit policy that put a border down the Irish Sea. Things are tense in Northern Ireland at the moment and I wouldn't recommend being in the middle of it.