The Student Room Group

First date - open car door for them?

Hi,

so i'm a male and going on a date in around a month or two after this girl gets her vaccines etc, i would say i'm caring and a slight gentleman but i don't over do it and my opinion on opening car doors seems a little cringe? some people have told me its good to do but others have said not to.

I just think its over the top to pull up and get out your car to open the door for them then close it and then go back round to drivers seat? maybe open it from inside the car like lean over and get the handle? i just dont want to seem weird on the first date plus her parents will be watching so my worry is over doing it as there is people who treat their partners more like Royals ie opening doors 24.7 and pulling chairs out and pushing them in it all seems way over the top for me but i'm new to dating.

Thoughts?

Scroll to see replies

Over the top innit. Just do what needs to be done in a simple and efficient manner.
She has her own pair of hands so she can open them herself?😂
Original post by Anonymous
Hi,

so i'm a male and going on a date in around a month or two after this girl gets her vaccines etc, i would say i'm caring and a slight gentleman but i don't over do it and my opinion on opening car doors seems a little cringe? some people have told me its good to do but others have said not to.

I just think its over the top to pull up and get out your car to open the door for them then close it and then go back round to drivers seat? maybe open it from inside the car like lean over and get the handle? i just dont want to seem weird on the first date plus her parents will be watching so my worry is over doing it as there is people who treat their partners more like Royals ie opening doors 24.7 and pulling chairs out and pushing them in it all seems way over the top for me but i'm new to dating.

Thoughts?