Stay in the UK or go abroad?

Watch
MarcusTaBezt699
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am currently a Year 12 student and sceptical about my uni choices. I was thinking of going abroad to escape the massive tuition fees in Ireland or Holland. Or I could stay here, take out a student loan and go to a local uni like Brunel or Reading, what would you recommend?
ReadingMum
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Not sure Holland or Ireland is so cheap now we are not in the EU
Last edited by ReadingMum; 1 month ago
MarcusTaBezt699
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by ReadingMum)
Not sure Holland or Ireland is so cheap now we are not in the EU
I am half Romanian and have a Romanian passport so it would be cheap as I am paying EU fees
danielhaslam19
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I'm planning to go to Manchester Uni (I've lived in Greater Manchester my whole life) since it's extremely top-tier for the subject I'm going to read - physics. On this course, 3rd year should hopefully be in a European country.

I feel as if people in our society are very ungrateful by nature. And so you will find people really make a massive deal about stuff like tuition fees. In reality, we actually have a very good system for tuition fees and cost of living. If you can't pay tuition fees and your household income suggests that your family will struggle to, then the government will just pay the fee straight to the uni and you have to pay it off in future. The same goes with cost of living while at uni (max. ~£9,500 a year loan). That works out so that a part time job, a loan and family support makes uni finances pretty easy so long as you're sensible with money.

As for paying the loans back, you have to be earning higher than £26,575 to have to pay a penny back. Once you earn above this, you're only paying back 9% of your wage. Therefore if your salary is, say, 30k after tax, you're still getting about 27k. It's really not that bad.