CompTIA A+ Certification - The Ultimate Study Guide and IT Career Guide

Watch
pcWizz
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello everyone.

I am a graduate in Computing & Information System and I've been working as an IT professional since year 2010.

My career started as an IT technician before falling into IT projects as a software testing professional.

Most students and graduates will be unsure about the area of IT to go into, but learning the fundamentals is always useful.

This thread is an repository of basic 'IT hardware' information which aligns with CompTIA A+. If you have any questions about the information posted or need help starting your IT journey, feel free to ask.
Last edited by pcWizz; 1 month ago
pcWizz
Rep:
?
What is overclocking?

• Overclocking is the action of increasing a component clock rate or bus speed above the manufacturers factory speed.
  • This is often applied on the BIOS or software level.
  • Typically, this applies to the Central Processing Unit (CPU), Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) and Random (Random Access Memory).
  • Overclocking aids the component to perform more operations per second and thus improve performance
  • Common activity within the gaming community or individuals attempting to squeeze additional performance out the component

Disadvantages of overclocking?
  • In validate the warranty of the component
  • Introduce additional to the component and within the case
  • Reduce the life span of the component

pcWizz
Rep:
?
What is a processor?

• Known as a processor, central processing unit or CPU
  • It is a circuit board that performs logic & calculations; essentially it’s the brain of the machine.
  • Processors are in many devices such as a laptop, tablet, mobile phone, gaming console etc.
  • The processor is responsible for executing instructions, performing calculations and running programs.
  • The instructions are fetched from the computer’s RAM and then turn it into an action.