The Student Room Group

How long would it take to learn polish?

It’s a hard language I know but it’s definitely not as difficult as other languages like Chinese or Arabic. It should only take about 3-4 years maximum to be able to have meaningful conversations with people right? Provided I studied an hour or so a day
Reply 1
Bump
Reply 2
I suppose if you study it and build on your skills for an hour every day for 3/4 years then it sounds plausible that you could be having conversations with people after that period 🤔 Although I don’t know anything about languages, but yeah, in my head it seems like it will be manageable for you to feel confident in the language after the 3/4 years! 😅 :smile:
Reply 3
Original post by Iownuk
It’s a hard language I know but it’s definitely not as difficult as other languages like Chinese or Arabic. It should only take about 3-4 years maximum to be able to have meaningful conversations with people right? Provided I studied an hour or so a day

You could probably have a simple conversation with someone after about 3 months, I would have said.

What has attracted you to Polish as a language?
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 4
Original post by Kerzen
You could probably have a simple conversation with someone after about 3 months, I would have said.

What has attracted you to Polish as a language?

I have a lot of polish friends and I’ve wanted to learn a slavic language for some time now so it just makes sense lol. And by meaningful conversation, I mean being able to talk with the same level of comfort and confidence as in English though maybe not to the same extent vocabulary wise
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 5
Original post by ..M..