When should I register with a new GP

Watch
flossyelvidge
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I'm moving from Cornwall to Derby so I'm going to have to register with a GP whilst I'm studying. when is the best time to do this and is it even necessary, any insight would be really helpful
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
So you'll live there most of the year?

You should register as soon as you move of course.
Muttley79
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by flossyelvidge)
I'm moving from Cornwall to Derby so I'm going to have to register with a GP whilst I'm studying. when is the best time to do this and is it even necessary, any insight would be really helpful
Usually you register in induction week but do tell your current GP that you are studying away.
flossyelvidge
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Muttley79)
Usually you register in induction week but do tell your current GP that you are studying away.
okay great thank you
black tea
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Muttley79)
but do tell your current GP that you are studying away.
There's no real need for this - once you register with a new practice, all your records are transferred there and you can't go back to see your old GP (unless you re-register or register as a temporary resident).
Muttley79
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by black tea)
There's no real need for this - once you register with a new practice, all your records are transferred there and you can't go back to see your old GP (unless you re-register or register as a temporary resident).
If you tell them they can tell you what to do if you are unwell over the holiday - that's what our practice tells students.
martin7
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago