atothez
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I’m an A level student who is looking at potentially doing a law degree, however after some research it seems like many people think law is oversaturated and underpaid. Can anyone confirm/refute this? Thank you
rola05
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by atothez)
I’m an A level student who is looking at potentially doing a law degree, however after some research it seems like many people think law is oversaturated and underpaid. Can anyone confirm/refute this? Thank you
Im also looking to do law, Im in year 12 btw. What I would say is commercial law is where the bread is. Criminal lawyers do not get paid that much whereas if you are a commercial lawyer at a big london firm you may be looking at 6 figures
atothez
Rep:
?
(Original post by rola05)
Im also looking to do law, Im in year 12 btw. What I would say is commercial law is where the bread is. Criminal lawyers do not get paid that much whereas if you are a commercial lawyer at a big london firm you may be looking at 6 figures
Ah thank u! Yeah, I wasn’t really interested in criminal law to begin with lol.
Joleee
Badges: 19
Report 1 month ago
law is not oversaturated - law graduates are oversaturated and so is the amount of applicants in general. like, there is a reason why they say getting a training contract is very competitive.

you need to bear in mind as well that law degree =/= legal career; they're too separate things and you can do plenty of other things with a law degree, so the question is really what do you want to study at university
rola05
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by atothez)
Ah thank u! Yeah, I wasn’t really interested in criminal law to begin with lol.
Neither am I tbh, im deffo gonna go into commercial law after uni. Good luck btw
legalhelp
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago