Emi8000
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi,
I am a year 11 student and cannot decide on my A Level choices! I know I want to study medicine at university and will definitely be taking A Level Biology, Chemistry and Maths. However, I am very academic and want to do a fourth subject; I originally chose Spanish because I have always wanted to speak well in another language and really enjoy it. However, my science teachers at school all say I should do Physics instead because they say it is preferred by universities? Would studying A Level Physics help me to become a better doctor? Would it be much more useful in a medical degree?

I would love to go to UCL and know they like a contrasting subject to be offered at A Level - do any other medical schools like a contrasting subject e.g. Newcastle or Birmingham or Cardiff?
Mesopotamian.
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Pick the subject you think you’ll get the best grade in. Doing physics A Level won’t give you any advantage. As long as you have the required grades for medicine (which for most schools is biology and chemistry), the third/fourth subject doesn’t matter and rather, it’s the grade that is more important (although no medical school asks for a 4th A Level and it won’t give you any advantages so you’ll be setting yourself up for more stress).
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Emi8000)
Hi,