Plan to transfer to good Law uni possible?

Watch
amber2106
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am a foundation year student studying law
I was not happy with my initial alevel grades as i knew it wasn't a reflection of my actual worth ethic and skill.
I know although it is quite tricky, you can transfer unis. I decided to get tutors and they have both predicted me A's for the 2 alevels I have decided to retake (this was in 2020) Covid did get in the way but I have continually been studying my alevels alongside my foundation year.
Im thinking of applying for 2nd year entry at a different uni but completing my first year at my current uni. Overall the grades I'm hoping to get if things go to plan is A* A C (I got a C from my previous alevel) . Will A* A C and hopefully a good grade in my first year of uni be enough to go to a decent uni?
Any advice how to navigate and talk to unis about transferring and grades
Any help appreciated 😊
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Transferring law is tricky as different universities cover qualifying law degree topics in different orders - so finding a compatible course isn’t always possible.
random1997
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by PQ)
Transferring law is tricky as different universities cover qualifying law degree topics in different orders - so finding a compatible course isn’t always possible.
This is the most crucial point. Put it this way: I've just finished a law degree at a Russell Group, know a lot of people who have done/are doing a law degree at other RG unis, and I've never heard a transfer happen. Ever.

The policy of my uni is that they absolutely do not take ANY second year transfers, and the only first year transfers they will accept are within the first 3 weeks, and only students from the medical faculty at my same uni. I'm not sure why just the medical faculty, but that's the rule! They're extremely picky.
Johnny ~
Badges: 15
Report 1 month ago