nightskies
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello!! I have a PhD dilemma that I'm really not sure about. I've been offered places at Oxford, Cambridge, York and Nottingham to study English. I thought I'd been ruled out for funding for all of them until this week, when I received confirmation of a fully funded place at Nottingham. I was planning on working a lot this summer, going to Oxford, and then praying for funding for my last two years (I can afford this with government loans, savings and borrowing from my parents). I need a Distinction for Oxford so if I get the grade (a 75 where I am at the moment, Cambridge), and publish papers and speak at conferences, I'll stand a much better chance next year for funding. It's the number 1 place to study my subject - my supervisor is perfect, and - other than the lack of funding - it's ideal.
But then again, lack of funding is far from ideal...
Nottingham would be a decent place to study, but I don't know if I'd be happy there - three years is a long time to be in a place you sort of don't want to be in. I've really had my heart set on Oxford, but there's no doubt it's a massive, expensive risk. Oxford may set me up for a better career in academia. If I get the grade, I don't know if I'd ever forgive myself for turning it down.
What should I do?
Last edited by nightskies; 1 month ago
SlaveofAll
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Choose the one you can afford.
Keele Postgraduate
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by nightskies)