Amber1874
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I’m currently in my first year of level 3 teaching assistant apprenticeship. I want to become a primary school teacher eventually but not sure what the right path is to do so. I want to keep my job while training so I can’t do full time at uni. However, I know that if you do part time you still need to do placements which I will have to take time off work for and not sure If I can lose my job because of that. Any suggestions on the right path to go forwards.
SlaveofAll
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
You may read this one for advice. (https://nationalcareers.service.gov....school-teacher)
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Amber1874)
I’m currently in my first year of level 3 teaching assistant apprenticeship. I want to become a primary school teacher eventually but not sure what the right path is to do so. I want to keep my job while training so I can’t do full time at uni. However, I know that if you do part time you still need to do placements which I will have to take time off work for and not sure If I can lose my job because of that. Any suggestions on the right path to go forwards.
If you don't have a degree, you will need to get one, but if you already have a degree, there are a few routes that might be open to you.

Firstly, there is Teach First and Schools Direct, which both offer salaried courses to enable you to become a teacher. You would obviously have to leave your job, but you would be able to earn whilst you train.

Secondly, there is the assessment only route- if you are teaching full classes in your school, you'd be able to follow this route to get qualified after about two years of experience. It usually takes a bit less than a year to get qualified this way.

If you need a degree, could you look at a part time open uni degree which you could study whilst working? You could then follow one of the post grad routes into teacher training.