The Student Room Group

Summer job advice

Hello everyone, I have a question and I can't stop thinking about it.
I am a university student and I just finished my first year of uni, now I am seeking for a job during this summer.
I had an interview for a normal job yesterday, waiters. In the interview they told me they will not hire someone who wants a summer job, because apparently is not cost effective, and they asked me if that was my intention, which I said no (which is a lie).
Next week will be a trial, but in the event that they employ me, and that I leave in September, do you think there would be a problem? Obviously I would give a week or so of notice before I go. Could there be something in the contract that prevents me from doing this? I know many people who have done this but I want to be sure
Original post by EricConK
Hello everyone, I have a question and I can't stop thinking about it.
I am a university student and I just finished my first year of uni, now I am seeking for a job during this summer.
I had an interview for a normal job yesterday, waiters. In the interview they told me they will not hire someone who wants a summer job, because apparently is not cost effective, and they asked me if that was my intention, which I said no (which is a lie).
Next week will be a trial, but in the event that they employ me, and that I leave in September, do you think there would be a problem? Obviously I would give a week or so of notice before I go. Could there be something in the contract that prevents me from doing this? I know many people who have done this but I want to be sure

Hi @EricConK,